Initiated investigation of surreal poetry

Surrealism in poetry is something that interests me very much. It is a type of writing based on free imagination and “practicing a creative process free of any conscious control.” It is said that the importance of the unconscious as a source of inspiration, is related directly to the nature of surrealism. When reading surrealist poetry, I feel completely free from everyday life. I feel as if I am entering this world filled with unusual and rare things. I look at this form of poetry almost an escape. Many surreal poets write with such ease and freedom that their true emotions are expressed perfectly. I regard this form of poetry as one in which writers do more writing than thinking and just let their words flow. I have found that many surrealist poems make readers feel as if they are in some kind of a dream like state. In fact, they seem to remind me of a dream. The poem Dawn by Federico Garcia Lorca is a great example of surrealist poetry. One line in this poem stood out to me more than the others; “a hurricane of black pigeons splashing in the putrid waters.” Not only does this line make you think, but it also makes you look at things from a different perspective. Instead of saying a flock of black pigeons, using the word hurricane creates a completely different impact. It also brings images to my mind of birds flying across the sky, but in more of an unrealistic imaginative way.

Reading about surrealist poetry, made me wonder whether I myself could write a piece of surreal poetry. I would like to find out and plan on writing a surreal poem as my next experimental journal entry. My research also makes me wonder whether the surreal poems that I read, which seem less meaningful, actually have the most emotion and meaning put behind them. I wonder about this because surreal poetry is the type in which strong meanings seem to be hidden behind the dream like, funny writing.

http://www.jbeilharz.de/surrealism/surrealism.html

http://alangullette.com/essays/lit/surreal.htm

http://alangullette.com/lit/surreal/

http://www.art.net/Studios/Poets/jennifer/rainbow/surreal/srindex.html

About sk300595337

love art.
This entry was posted in Investigations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

